Sonata for Piano Trio

The Dussek Piano Trio

The world première of Sonata for Piano Trio took place on Friday 30th May 1997 at London's Purcell Room. The première was given by the excellent Dussek Piano Trio and was included in a programme with piano trios by Beethoven and Mendelssohn. 

Programme Notes

Sonata for Piano Trio is a three-movement work that was completed in March 1996. The exposition of the first movement is built up from three subjects, each focusing on one instrument. The first forms the basis for the development and remainder of the movement. The second, in its inverted and distorted form, provides the foundation of the second movement, the original finally appearing as a coda with muted violin. The third subject forms the basis of the closing movement which is a Rondo. The three entries are a final contribution of the 'triple structure' that underlies the whole work, before a recapitulation of the first episode brings the piece to an end. The work was begun in June 1995 and coincided with the death of my mother. I therefore expected it to take on a tragic character but with the exception of the introduction to the second movement and hints of a funeral march, the work generally reflects an imagined youth and dance-like energy that gives a somewhat celebratory character.


The review in the August edition of The Strad said of the new work:


' was the Stimpson which proved to be the most rewarding. In three movements - a Vivo, Lento and Rondo:Andante - it is a finely poised, lyrical work. The richly melancholic Lento was paced to perfection and the final movement lost none of its drive and drama: in short, a joy to hear.'



  • Black iTunes Icon
  • SoundCloud - Black Circle
  • Black Spotify Icon


  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Facebook - Black Circle

© 2018 Michael Stimpson