A True Age of Wonders

As I sat in the sun outside my office last Friday I felt quite emotional with the CD launch today - it feels very much the end of an era; the end of a three-CD series, the end of the Darwin project that went from the Wigmore to Australia, and the end of all the negotiations, agreements and funding that put these things in place. The 15th September 2017 saw the release on CD of Age of Wonders, recorded by the Philharmonia with Stuart Stratford, conductor, Maya Iwabuchi, violin, and Tom Poster, piano. Written to mark the 200th anniversary of the birth of Charles Darwin, the piece begins for violin and piano (based on Darwin’s early life), evolves to a string quartet, The Beagle, then a work fo

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • SoundCloud Social Icon


  • Black iTunes Icon
  • SoundCloud - Black Circle
  • Black Spotify Icon


  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Facebook - Black Circle

© 2018 Michael Stimpson